What Kobe Meant For Me

Bee
4 min readJan 28, 2020

A Los Angeles pinnacle of strength, dedication, and admiration.

Los Angeles Culture mural, located blocks away from STAPLES center

I don’t know how to bring these words out to the surface, as I am uncertain if I can combine the right ones to describe what is in my heart. This does not even feel real. I never knew Kobe personally, but I had the incredible privilege of interning for his basketball camp, at UC Santa Barbara. I now feel blessed to have met and worked for one of my heroes.

Kobe is the reason why I fell in love with basketball. From dominating with Shaq, to being alongside DFish, and Pau Gasol. That electric run developed the love I have for basketball now. Kobe was my favorite athlete then and now, my fandom belonged to Kobe.

I loved Kobe. I wanted to be just like him. No one could tell the 7 year old version of me that I wasn’t going to be like Kobe. Every time I picked up a ball, I wanted my movements to be like his, I wanted my defense to look like his, but more than anything, I wanted to reproduce that timeless, signature fadeaway.

As I grew, my love for basketball solidified as a motivational tool to apply toward my personal trials. I can’t say it enough, I loved Kobe. I still do. As a fan, of basketball and more. Kobe was the embodiment of grit, hard work, and dedication. He was the example I needed to gain perspective on hardships.

--

--

Bee
0 Followers

I write my thoughts, I write my heart. • Based in Los Angeles, CA.